List Of KALRO Agricultural Research Institutes In Kenya

This is a list of all research institutes managed by the Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organisation (KALRO) KALRO was created under the Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Act of 2013, to establish a suitable, legal and institutional framework for the coordination of agricultural research in Kenya.

KARLO manages 17 research institutes which are located in different parts of the country. Here is a list of all the research institutes and centres.

1. Agricultural Mechanization Research Institute

The institute was established in November 2015. Its key function is to generate, disseminate agricultural mechanization technologies and innovations across the livestock and crops value chains in Kenya. It is located in Katumani, Machakos County.

2. Apiculture Research Institute

The institute’s main mandate is to support the apiculture subsector through the use of best practices, in a bid to contribute to food and nutrition security. The centre is located in Marigat, Baringo County.

3. Arid and Rangelands Research Institute

It mainly focuses on developing, adapting and upscaling scientific research innovations and information geared towards sustainably managing the livelihoods of communities living in arid and semi-arid areas. It is located in Kiboko, Makueni County.

4. Beef Research Institute

The institute focuses on research projects in animal breeding, nutrition, pastures and fodders development, sorghum and millet production, natural resource management and socio-economics. It is situated in Lanet, Nakuru County.

5. Biotechnology Research Institute

It is located in Muguga, Kiambu County.

6. Coffee Research Institute

The institute conducts research in coffee production, processing and marketing aspects. It is located in Ruiru, Kiambu County.

7. Dairy Research Institute

The institute’s key focus is on dairy-related research. It is located in Naivasha, Nakuru County.

8. Genetic Resources Research Institute

It is responsible for conserving plant genetic resources, animal and microbial genetic resources.  It is located in Muguga, Kiambu County.

9. Food Crops Research Institute

The institute is located in Kitale, Trans Nzoia County.

10. Horticulture Research Institute

The institute’s mission is to generate and disseminate horticultural knowledge and innovative technologies. It is located in Kandara, Murang’a County.

11. Industrial Crops Research Institute

It is located in Mtwapa, Kilifi County.

12. Non-Ruminant Research Institute

The institute is located in Kakamega.

13. Sheep and Goat Research Institute

The centre is located in Marsabit.

14. Sugar Research Institute

The institute’s mission is to contribute to improved livelihoods, income generation and employment creation, industrial technologies and innovations for enhancing productivity, value addition and competitiveness of the sugar industry. It is located in Kibos, Kisumu County.

15. Tea Research Institute

Its main mandate is to promote research and investigate problems related to tea, such as productivity, quality and suitability of land in relation to tea planting. It is located in Kericho.

16. Veterinary Sciences Research Institute

The institute mainly focuses on animal diseases. It is located in Muguga, Kiambu County.

17. Miraa Research Institute (MRI)

It is tasked with improving the profitability of miraa farming in Kenya. The institute is located in Meru County.

Check out: 

Zack Abuyeka

I am the third eye.My duty is to keep you updated of the current trends and events happening round the globe.