List Of All KEMRI Research And Training Centres

It has 6 main research programmes and different research committees which include; Scientific Programme Committee (SPC), Scientific Steering Committee (SSC), Ethical Review Committee (ERC), Animal Care and Use Committee (ACUC), Publications Committee (PC).

Here is a list of all KEMRI research and training centres.

1.Centre for Biotechnology Research and Development (CBRD)

The centre is located within KEMRI headquarters complex in Nairobi. The centre’s key mandate and goal is to undertake biotechnology-related research on human diseases in Kenya and to contribute to the improvement of human welfare and health.

2.Centre for Clinical Research (CCR)

The centre is also located in Nairobi. It is an integral part of the KEMRI organisational structure. It basically has two sections which include the Radiology unit and the CCR laboratory unit.

3.Centre for Infectious and Parasitic Diseases Control Research (CIPDCR)

It is located in Busia. It was established in 1947 as the Alupe leprosarium hospital. KEMRI later took it over in 1979 and changed its name to CIPDCR in 2000. It initially focused on leprosy research and other skin diseases. However, its mandate was expanded to include Tuberculosis research, HIV/AIDS and STD research, Emerging and remerging diseases research, Malaria research, Geo-helminths research and Fungal infections research.

4.Centre for Public Health Research (CPHR)

It is situated in Nairobi. It operated by the name of Medical Research Centre before a formal transfer to KEMRI. It was officially renamed to Centre for Public Health Research in 1995. The centre’s key mission is to prevent and manage diseases, injuries and other health conditions through research and promotion of healthy behaviours and environments.

5.Centre for Microbiology Research (CMR)

It is one of KEMRI’s oldest research centres. The centre has laboratories spread in four sub-centres located in Nairobi at Mbagathi and Kenyatta National Hospital complex. It also has subcentres in Kisumu and Kwale. It is mandated to conduct research on helminthic infections, traveller research and medical examination of employees in the hospitality industry.

6.Centre for Respiratory Diseases Research (CRDR)

The centre is located in Nairobi, with its key mission being to conduct respiratory disease research and generate research findings to be applied towards the improvement of lung health in Kenya.

7.Centre for Traditional Medicine and Drug Research (CTMDR)

The centre is situated in Nairobi. Its key mandate is to carry out research to rationalize traditional medicine in Kenya and to carry out quality assurance of conventional medicine. The centre is headed by a director who oversees its five units namely; Chemical Sciences, Biological Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Botanical sciences and Administration.

8.Centre for Global Health Research (CGHR)

It was established in 1984 and is located in Kisumu city. The centre has carried out research focusing on trials on the efficacy of drugs, emergence of drug and vector resistance, epidemiology, molecular biology, vector biology, climate and human health, malaria vaccine trials, malaria in pregnancy, the interaction of malaria and HIV, schistosomiasis, tuberculosis, reproductive health and HIV interaction with other infectious diseases.

9.Centre for Virus Research (CVR)

It is KEMRI’s oldest centre. It has 8 laboratories and units located within KEMRI headquarters and research campuses within Kenyatta National Hospital compound. The centre’s mission is to improve human health and quality of life through virology research, surveillance, outbreak investigations, response and inform policy, service delivery and capacity building.

10.Centre for Geographic Medicine Research (CGMRC)

The centre is located in the coastal town of Kilifi. It conducts integrated epidemiological, social, laboratory and clinical research in parallel with results feeding into local and international health policy.

11.Eastern and Southern Africa Centre of International Parasite Control (ESACIPAC)

It is located in Nairobi and was established in 2001, with a major goal of coordinating activities on school health based parasite control in the Eastern and Southern Africa region under the framework of the Global Parasite Control Initiative.

12.KEMRI Graduate School of Health Sciences (KGSHS)

It was established by KEMRI’s Board of Management 1992, to train postgraduate students in health research through opportunities presented by the well established medical research facilities available at the institution. It offers Public health programmes, Biomedical sciences programmes and Medicinal chemistry programmes.

Zack Abuyeka

I am the third eye.My duty is to keep you updated of the current trends and events happening round the globe.