List Of All KenGen Power Generating Plants

 KenGen is the leading electric power generation company in Kenya. It produces 75% of electricity capacity installed in the country. It generates electric power in bulk, then sells to Kenya Power which finally distributes the electric power to consumers. KenGen was incorporated on 1st February 1954 under the Companies Act( Chapter 486) as Kenya Power Company. It was mandated with the task of constructing the transmission line between Nairobi and Tororo and also the development of geothermal and other power generating facilities in Kenya.

The energy sectoral reforms in 1996 led to the formal separation of KPC from Kenya Power. KPC was renamed to KenGen in 1997. KenGen currently owns 31 power generating plants, with a combined installed capacity of 1,631 MW from its diverse power plants which comprise of hydroelectric, geothermal, thermal and wind power plants. Hydro is the leading source of power with an installed capacity of 819.9 MW, about 51% of the company’s installed capacity. Geothermal capacity is 533.8 MW. Total Thermal capacity is 253.5 MW while wind capacity is 25.5 MW.

Here is a list of all KenGen power generating plants in Kenya.

1. Hydroelectric Power Plants

  • Gitaru 225 MW
  • Kiambere 168 MW
  • Kamburu 94.2 MW
  • Gogo 2 MW
  • Kindaruma 72 MW
  • Masinga 40 MW
  • Mesco 0.38 MW
  • Sagana 1.5 MW
  • Sondu 60 MW
  • Sosiani 0.4 MW
  • Tana 20 MW
  • Turkwel 106 MW
  • Wanjii 7.4 MW
  • Sangoro 21 MW
  • Ndula 2 MW

2. Geothermal Power Plants

  • Olkaria I 45 MW
  • Olkaria II 105 MW
  • Eburru 2.5 MW
  • Wellheads (5 units) 30.6 MW
  • Olkaria IV Unit 1 73 MW

3. Thermal Power Plants

  • Kipevu III Diesel 120 MW
  • Kipevu I Diesel 73.5 MW
  • Embakasi Gas Turbine 54 MW
  • Lamu 2.8 MW
  • Garissa 5.9 MW

4. Wind Power

  • Ngong Wind Power 5.1 MW
Zack Abuyeka

I am the third eye.My duty is to keep you updated of the current trends and events happening round the globe.