List Of IEBC Commissioners

This is a list of IEBC Commissioners. Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) is responsible for conducting or supervising referenda and elections to any elective body or office established by the constitution of Kenya.

The commission’s mission is to conduct transparent, efficient and impartial elections and undertake boundary delimitation for equitable representation and sustainable democracy.

IEBC is made up of seven commissioners who are appointed by the President and vetted by Members of Parliament. The commissioners serve for a term of six years.

Apart from the commissioners, IEBC has a professional secretariat that manages the day to day running of the commission. It has 9 directorates and 17 departments. Each directorate is headed by a director while each department has a manager.

The secretariat comprises of;

  • Commission Secretary/Chief Executive Officer.
  • 2 Deputy Commission Secretaries.
  • 9 Directors.
  • 24 Managers.
  • 47 County Election Managers.
  • 290 Constituency Election Coordinators.

Here is a list of IEBC Commissioners.

1. Wafula Chebukati

He is the commission’s chairperson and works on a full-time basis. He chairs the Legal Affairs and Compliance Committee, Dispute Resolution Committee and the Electoral Code of Conduct Committee.

2. Juliana Whonge Cherera

She is the vice-chairperson of the commission.

3. Francis Mathenge Wanderi

4. Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya

5. Irene Cherop Masit

6. Prof Abdi Yakub Guliye

He chairs Research, Technology and Strategy Committee and is also a member of the Audit Risk and Compliance Committee.

7. Boya Mulu

He chairs the Human Resource, Administration and Training Committee.

IEBC Contacts

Head Office: University Way, Anniversary Towers, 6th Floor, Nairobi.

Contact: 020 287 7000.


Zack Abuyeka

I am the third eye.My duty is to keep you updated of the current trends and events happening round the globe.