List Of Independent Power Producers (IPPs) In Kenya

This is a list of Independent Power Producers (IPPs) in Kenya. IPPs own and operate power stations that sell power in bulk to Kenya Power. They play a crucial role in meeting overall power needs in the country.

There are six licensed Independent Power Producers (IPPs) in Kenya.

1. Tsavo Power Company Ltd

Established in 2002, the company operates Tsavo Thermal Power Station in Kipevu, Mombasa. The company’s plant provides 74 MW of total electrical output.

2. Iberafrica Power Ltd

The company was established in 1997. It operates two power plants in Nairobi’s Industrial Area. Iberafrica plant 1 generates 56 MW while plant 2 generates 52.5 MW.

3. Thika Power Ltd

A subsidiary of Matelec Group of Companies, Thika Power operates an 87 MW power plant in Thika. It started operations in 2014.

4. Rabai Power Limited

The company’s 90 MW power plant is located in Rabai, Kilifi county. It has been operation since 2010.

5. Gulf Power

The company’s 80.3 MW plant is located in Athi River. It commenced operations in 2014.

6. Triumph

It operates an 83 MW power plant in Athi River. The company started operations in 2015.

Check out:

Victor Matara

I help you to save time and live more with the most up-to-date lists, guides, reviews, and advice.