Updated List Of Principal Secretaries In Kenya 2023

Here is an updated list of all principal secretaries in Kenya as of 2023. A principal secretary is tasked with the administration of a state department. There are 51 principal secretaries in Kenya.

Below are the functions and responsibilities of a principal secretary.

Duties and Responsibilities of Principal Secretaries in Kenya 

  • Implementing government policies and the Strategic Plan for the State Department.
  • Facilitating the achievement of the goals and objectives of Government and Inter-Governmental programs and projects.
  • Developing and implementing an effective performance management system.
  • Ensuring efficient and effective utilization of Financial, Human and other Resources in the State Department. This includes submitting regular statutory reports.
  • Promoting high standards of professional ethics in the operations of their respective departments.

Updated List of Principal Secretaries In Kenya 2023

  State Department  Principal Secretary
1.  Cabinet Affairs Julius Korir
2. Devolution Teresia Malokwe
3. Performance and Delivery Management Anne Njoki Wang’ombe
4. Parliamentary Affairs Aurelia Rono
5. Interior & National Administration Raymond Omollo
6. Correctional Services Salome Wairimu Muhia-Beacco
7. Citizen Services Julius Bitok
8. The National Treasury Chris Kiptoo
9. Economic Planning James Muhati
10. Defence Patrick Mariro
11. Foreign Affairs Korir Sing’oei
12. Diaspora Affairs Roseline Njogu
13. Public Service Amos Gathecha
14. Gender and Affirmative Action Veronica Mueni Nduva
15. Roads Joseph Mungai Mbugua
16. Transport Mohamed Dhagar
17. Lands and Physical Planning Nixon Korir
18. Housing and Urban Development Charles Hinga
19. Public Works Joel Arumoyang
20. Broadcasting and Telecommunications Edward Kisiangani
21. ICT and the Digital Economy John Kipchumba Tanui
22. Medical Services Harry Kimutai
23. Public Health and Professional Standards  Mary Muthoni
24. Basic Education Belio Kipsang
25. TVET Esther Thaara Muhoria
26. Higher Education and Research Beatrice Inyangala
27. Crop Development Philip Kello Harsama
28. Livestock Development Jonathan Mueke
29. Trade Alfred K’Ombundo
30. Investment Promotion Abubakar Hassan
31. Industry Juma Mukhwana
32. Cooperatives Patrick Kiburi Kilemi
33. MSMEs Development Susan Mangeni
34. Youth Affairs Ismail Madey
35. Sports and The Arts Peter Tum
36. Environment Festus Ngeno
37. Forestry Gitonga Mugambi
38. Tourism John Ololtuaa
39. Wildlife Sylvia Naseya Muhoro
40. Culture and Heritage Ummy Mohammed Bashir
41. Water and Sanitation Paul Ronoh
42. Irrigation Ephantus Kimotho Kimani
43. Energy Alex Wachira
44. Petroleum Mohamed Liban
45. Labour and Skills Development Geoffrey Kaituko
46. Social Protection and Senior Citizen Affairs Joseph Mugosi
47. East African Community Affairs Abdi Dubart
48. The ASALs and Regional development Idris Dogota
49. Mining Elijah Mwangi
50. Blue Economy and Fisheries Betsy Muthoni Njagi
51. Shiping and Maritime Affairs Shadrack Mwadime

Principal Secretary Salary In Kenya 

The gross monthly salary attached to this post is Ksh 765,188  plus other benefits as determined by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

Below is a breakdown of the pay.

Principal Secretary Salary And Allowances
Basic Salary Ksh 459,113
House Allowance Ksh 150,000
Market Adjustment Ksh 156,075
Total Salary Per Month Ksh 765,188

Check Out:

Victor Matara

I help you to save time and live more with the most up-to-date lists, guides, reviews, and advice.