List Of Regional Economic Blocs In Kenya

This is a list of regional economic blocs in Kenya. Kenya has a total of 47 counties, which have over the years integrated to form 6 regional economic blocs to spur economic growth and to achieve sustainable development through resource mobilization and policy harmonization.

Here is a list of regional economic blocs in Kenya.

1. Lake Region Economic Bloc (LREB)

LREB was developed with the support of Deloitte Africa and Ford Foundation in partnership with county governments of respective 14 member counties. It was established to bring together all available resources, identify opportunities and to take an integrated approach to have all policies and activities in the Lake Region aligned towards sustainable quality of life.

The bloc’s 14 member counties include;

  • Migori
  • Nyamira
  • Siaya
  • Vihiga
  • Bomet
  • Bungoma
  • Busia
  • Homa Bay
  • Kakamega
  • Kisii
  • Kisumu
  • Nandi
  • Trans Nzoia
  • Kericho

2. North Rift Economic Bloc (NOREB)

NOREB is an economic bloc of 8 North Rift counties which was established to capitalize on the economies of scale in agriculture, sports tourism, trade, natural resources wildlife and its rich cultural heritage.

Member counties include;

  • Uasin Gishu
  • Trans Nzoia
  • Nandi
  • Elgeyo Marakwet
  • West Pokot
  • Baringo
  • Samburu
  • Turkana

3. Frontier Counties Development Council (FCDC)

FCDC was formed in 2014 and officially registered in April 2016. It was established to promote cooperation, coordination and information sharing between counties, to enhance socio-economic development and promote peaceful co-existence among its members.

Member counties include;

  • Lamu
  • Tana River
  • Garissa
  • Wajir
  • Mandera
  • Marsabit
  • Isiolo
  • Turkana
  • Samburu
  • West Pokot

4. Jumuia Ya Kaunti Za Pwani

This bloc comprises 6 counties namely;

  • Taita Taveta
  • Tana River
  • Lamu
  • Kilifi
  • Kwale
  • Mombasa

5. South Eastern Kenya Economic Bloc

It comprises 3 counties namely;

  • Kitui
  • Machakos
  • Makueni

6. Mt Kenya and Aberdares Region Economic Bloc

It comprises 10 counties namely;

  • Nyeri
  • Nyandarua
  • Meru
  • Tharaka Nithi
  • Embu
  • Kirinyaga
  • Murang’a
  • Laikipia
  • Nakuru
  • Kiambu
Zack Abuyeka

I am the third eye.My duty is to keep you updated of the current trends and events happening round the globe.