Why Does Uruguay Have Four Stars In Their Crest?

Winning a FIFA World Cup is the biggest honor that any football player or team can dream of obtaining at some moment. Sign up to 1xbet.com/en – place online bet now on these major football championships.

Because of the importance of this achievement, teams who have won it display stars on their crests that represent the individual tournaments won. There are three squads that proudly show four stars in their crests, representing four major football titles. They include:

  • Germany;
  • Italy;
  • and Uruguay.

You can place an online bet now through 1xBet on all those national teams at any moment. Both Germany and Italy have won four editions of the FIFA World Cup. On the other hand, Uruguay has won only two. Then why does the South American team also display four stars as well?

Understanding the pre-FIFA World Cup major football competitions

The first edition of the FIFA World Cup was held in 1930, and it was precisely organized and won by Uruguay. Visit now www.1xbet.com/en/mobile if you want to place a wager on the Uruguayan national side. Twenty years later, the South American nation won the 1950 FIFA World Cup as well.


Prior to the first edition of the World Cup, the football tournament of the Olympics was seen as the most important championship in the world.


Uruguay won the Olympic tournaments of 1924 and 1928. It is worth noting that FIFA, rather than the International Olympic Committee, was tasked with organizing those tournaments. The 1xBet bookmaker also welcomes everybody who wants to wager on all championships organized by those entities.


For this reason, from 1992, FIFA retrospectively recognized those Olympic titles as if they were obtained by winning a World Cup. There were other differences between those two Olympic competitions and prior tournaments that resulted in FIFA not recognizing them as official titles.

Solving a controversy

The number of stars in the crest of a national team is something closely regulated by FIFA. The football bets online from 1xbet.com/en/line/football can also be used to wager on all national squads from all over the world. In other words, a team can’t simply add stars on their own discretion.

In 1992, an Uruguayan historian submitted a series of historical documents to FIFA. His intention was to convince the entity that FIFA itself had recognized Uruguay as “World Champions” after the aforementioned Olympics. The online football bets from 1xBet can always be used to also wager on Uruguay.

The football’s governing body agreed with the historian’s assessment. As a result, FIFA officially authorized the South American nation to have four stars rather than just two on their crest.